I Ate Jimmy Cricket! @ El Topo Mexican Restaurant, Bondi Junction, Sydney

Date of Visit:  September 13, 2015

So I’m back in Sydney again – this time for around 2 weeks.  The trip from Borneo to Sydney was truly an expedition in itself, taking me a-day-and-a-half!   I transited for around 9 hours in Kuala Lumpur International Airport.  I had the privilege of using the Golden Lounge, but unfortunately, MAS being a near bankrupt airline is undergoing cost-cutting measures: alcohols are served in tiny Barbie-doll play-sized goblets, and I had to trek to Burger King for my Diet Cokes…with no temptations in sight, I’m on track with my ‘diet’ *win!* 🙌  (Although I did gorged 5 bread rolls to dull my hunger pangs! 😂)

Perhaps, the stars were not aligned for my red-eye flight.  After boarding, there was a delay meaning that we were made to sit on the plane for over an hour…when we finally arrived Sydney, we were 45 minutes delayed…meaning that I only had time to drop my bags at home, then drive to Bondi Junction for lunch with the Ladies.

Ever so efficient, the Ladies had already ordered, I happily await for the food to arrive…

The complimentary Roasted Crickets really made our day!  Oohs and Aahs all round with phones out a-clicking.  The Chapulines: Roasted crickets in chilli, garlic and lime are popular Mexican street snacks.  Sour-spicy-salty, I preferred the accompanying garlic chips instead of the crickets themselves!  The crickets were bland and tasteless…similar to eating charred leaves?

IMG_0931

Chapulines: Roasted crickets

IMG_0936

Chapulines: Roasted crickets

IMG_0952

Up and personal with Jimmy The Cricket 😋

Prawns were so-so…forgettable…

IMG_0951

School of deep-fried Prawns

Scallop ceviche with cucumber, charred corn, tomato, chilli and lime juice in a pot with fried crisps was nice.

IMG_0934

Scallop ceviche

We each ordered a Tacos.  I had the Gemfish Tacos which was good…

IMG_0938

IMG_0939

Soft-shell crab Taco

IMG_0940

Gemfish Taco

Quesadillas were another typical Mexican fare… I had a forgettable taste of each.

IMG_0944

Mexican Truffles and Mushrooms Quesadillas

IMG_0942

Zucchini flower, Quinoa Cheesy Quesadillas

The 12-hours beef short ribs with pickled cabbage and baby onions was amazing!  Tender soft meat in overly tasty BBQ sauce, hence my favourite of the day was the pickled baby onions.

IMG_0949

12-hours beef short ribs with pickled cabbage and baby onions

We also had the tasty Whole grilled Spatchcock with back beans and corn.

IMG_0946

Whole grilled Spatchcock with back beans and corn

For dessert, we ordered the Buńuelos Con Chocolate:  Mexican doughnuts & chocolate sauce.  The Ladies all loved the fluffy doughnut balls…

IMG_0953

Mexican doughnuts & chocolate sauce.

It was a beautifully perfect afternoon lunching with the Ladies on the terrace under the blue skies, talking about lipsticks!  While in KLIA, to kill time, I did MAC true-red lipstick runs – Ruby Woo to be specific!  A devaluation of the Ringgit meant that RM74 is equivalent to A$25 – a substantial price difference of A$11!  *Bargain*

IMG_0959

Blue Skies

IMG_0927

Colourful drinks…

IMG_0958

Rooftop terrace

IMG_0961

Murals along the wall

IMG_0955

Muncha Gratias